How to control apps’ access to iCloud Drive?

iCloud-DriveApple iCloud is a little trick of magic that not only stores your data but also sync your data across other devices. iCloud not only supports the stock iOS apps but it also supports third-party apps too meaning that these apps can also use iCloud Drive to store data.

But not every app need to store its data and consume the storage of iCloud Drive. You can individually select which apps can use iCloud Drive and which can not.

Below is how you can give and revoke iCloud Drive access to certain apps in just a few taps.

How to give apps access to iCloud Drive?

    1. Launch the Settings App on your iOS Device(iPhone/iPad).
    2. Tap on iCloud Account Banner(Your Name).
    3. Tap on iCloud.
    4. Scroll down and look for the app that you want to have access to iCloud Drive.
    5. Turn on the switch next to the app that you want to have access to iCloud.

Giving-App-Access

After you turn on the switch, the selected app will have access to iCloud Drive and will be able to sync your data of the app across your other devices such as iPad or Mac which are using the same iCloud account but this will use the storage space of your iCloud Drive.

How to revoke apps’ access to iCloud Drive?

Enabling iCloud access for an app is useful but sometimes there are some apps that we don’t want to have access to iCloud Drive. These apps may be some calculation apps or other related apps. So, it’s better to revoke access for those apps so those apps can no longer use iCloud Drive’s storage space.

  1. Launch the Settings App on your iOS Device(iPhone/iPad).
  2. Tap on iCloud Account Banner(Your Name).
  3. Tap on iCloud.
  4. Scroll down and look for the app that you want to revoke access to iCloud Drive.
  5. Turn off the switch next to the app that you want to revoke access to iCloud.

Revoking-App-Access

When you turn off the switch for any app then its access to iCloud Drive will be revoked and it won’t be able to use iCloud Drive. As a result, the data of these apps won’t sync across your other devices and you will have some free storage space cleared up.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *